Is Twitter relevant?

There’s a nice piece by Andrew Ratner in the Baltimore Sun that asks when Twitter took over the world.  He gave me a name-check in the piece after we had a brief exchange about earlier technologies that quickly became their own punchlines.  I told him that there were aspects of Twitter, as critiqued in the clever animation he sent me, that reminded me of my experiment with Google (the addiction stuff is astute).  But in the end he included my reminder that Charlie Chaplin’s performance in Modern Times (now that March is over I can link guiltlessly to youtube) captured contemporary fears about factory mechanization.  My career as a pundit began and ended thus.

Leave a Reply

