Embedded Google

Just a few “field notes”:

– Thanks to the advice of librarian Beth from McGill I now am clued-in enough to use the “site:” operator to get around using Google to search websites that build Google’s search engine into their sites. Still, I have on a couple of occasions been unable to use this work-around: when clicking through to a “directions” feature on a restaurant website and a real estate website. Both of these websites linked directly to google maps (or embedded a google map into their page). When I see that I recoil in horror! No!!! For the restaurant I guess I didn’t technically cheat because someone else was using the computer; but for the real estate site I was in a hurry and totally cheated.
Google 1, Andy 0.

– I was driving to work today and wanted to stop by the shoe store, but wasn’t sure what time they opened. Instinctively I opened my cell phone and was about to compose a new text to send to 46645 (Google local), when I realized the violation I was about to commit. I let out a couple of vulgar words and continued driving.
Luckily the store was open when I arrived. But it made me reflect on the “old days” before cell phones and before every store had their hours (or at least a phone #) posted online. It also made me wonder if there is an alternative to Google local. Obviously I could have dialed 411 or whatever the directory lookup # is, but they charge something obscene like $1.25 per call. The genius of Google local is that it’s free – or should I say “free,” since they are simply getting more data grist for the mill… But, more interesting from a sociological perspective, is how Google (and cell phones) feed our desire to access any information anytime, anywhere. When my own rather pointless self-imposed ban on Google kept me from doing so, I got more angry than I should have. (But you will be happy to know, gentle reader, that I did end up buying a new pair of shoes.)

– Final field note: I was hunting around for some info on a colleague – a fellow who will be on the same panel as me at an upcoming conference – and was dismayed to see that his homepage and all his professional info (pubs, cv, etc) is hosted at his googlepages.com website. I guess I’ll have to wait until April 1 to find out more about him.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Embedded Google”

  1. Eric Hundin Says:

    I found your blog on MSN Search. Nice writing. I will check back to read more.

    Eric Hundin

  2. Embedded Google | How to make a website Says:

    […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptwebsites that build Google’s search engine into their sites. Still, I have on a couple of occasions been unable to use this work-around: when clicking through to a “directions” feature on a restaurant website and a real estate website. … […]

  3. eraser’s blog » Blog Archive » Embedded Google Says:

    […] to a “directions” feature on a restaurant website and a real estate website. … marchawayfromgoogle.wordpress.com/2008/03/17/embedded-google/ March Away From Google […]

Leave a Reply

