Thoughtful slacking

Well if my blog was for a grade – or worse for a job – I would be failed and fired.  Instead of dwelling on why I have not kept up with my blogging–which would require me to sit down and write about why I spend too much time thinking and not enough time writing–I might as well get down to it.

- My Mac died earlier this month (temporarily, thank gods), so I was forced/lucky enough to use a friend’s machine for a few days.  Windows, complete with a desktop Google search bar (not sure if it searched the computer or the Internet or both) and Google set as the homepage.  I avoided both, but it was an interesting reminder about my choices and everyone else’s defaults and habits.

- Google is more useful than I reckoned for academic purposes.  Last week I used Yahoo to search for a particular sentence in a student paper that was obviously plagiarized.  Yahoo didn’t find the original paper, so I violated protocol and switched to Google, which came up with it as the top hit.  I know this is anecdotal, but it reaffirms my trust in Google and suspicion of other search engines for finding what I am hoping to find.  I think any more substantial discussion of these sorts of issues would require a more scientific study, which I neither have the time nor the energy to construct and perform.  In fact I can’t even be bothered to search for people who have done such things.  This sort of reinforces the notion that users, when given a wide range of choices, tend to go with instinct rather than empirical facts. Especially when such facts are hard to come by, but my advertisement-addled brain thinks it knows what I should trust.  On a related note, I haven’t encountered anything that comes close to being a competitor to Google Scholar (although I haven’t spent a great deal of time looking).

- In a similar vein, I was recently recalling a particularly brilliant lecture from an undergraduate professor of mine, James Merrell, who was talking about an attitude of “boundlessness” among Americans at the turn of the 18th century.  I wanted to see if he or anyone had published on the topic, so I turned to the WWW.  A quick search using Yahoo and another search engine (maybe hakia) turned up nothing.  This time I didn’t cheat – I didn’t regress to Google.  Instead I was left with the nagging feeling that I was missing out on something that could be at my fingertips, if only I had the right tools.  I also used JStor to see if he had published anything on the topic – but without success.  Perhaps I should send him an email – I’m sure he’d be somewhere between delighted to hear from me and puzzled about why that particular lecture has stuck in my head for 15 years.

- Google books.  Cheers to my friend Nystrom (a Linux-head and constructive contrarian by instinct, it should be noted), whose comment to use the Internet Archive for texts is a smart one.  For the record, archive.org has the 1909 edition of the Origin of Species (another text I am using for class – yes I am moving along at a fast clip); Google books has an 1875 edition.  IA does not, it seems, have the sort of page-by-page scrolling feature that Google Books has – you need to download the whole book and then let Acrobat or Preview (or whatever reader Linux uses ;-) deal with it.

- Changing subjects a bit and moving into the realm of public policy, one of the Google-related news stories I came across was this one about Google Voice and the potential legal problems that may follow from Google’s not-that-sly move into telecom.  Apart from privacy issues, this move also raises consolidation of power issues that IMHO Google would be smart to avoid.  This is a case where, on the surface, it seems like the marginal gain isn’t worth the increased legal risks.  But I’m just a history professor, not a lawyer or anybody who actually makes marketing decisions.

- We talked in one of my classes about the challenges of putting health records into electronic databases.  A great idea on the surface, and President Obama sure is pushing it, but even my sleepy and trusting students thought it would be a little bit weird for Google (or, worse, Microsoft) to be a centralized manager of health information. Gotta love the rhetoric though – “Google Health puts you in charge of your health information.”  To which I can see any number of users responding “Hey, what could possibly go wrong??”

- Finally, the point when I wondered why I bother: an article that reported that “craigslist” has replaced “myspace” as the top search term as recorded by a market research company that measures click-throughs.  This is interesting for only one reason: it tells me that people don’t understand how to use a browser address bar.  What kind of a world is this?  If you had told me that there are even 10 people in the country who, if they wanted to go to craigslist, would go to google (or any search engine) and type “craigslist,” I would have laughed in your face.  Yet the other top ranked sites include ebay, facebook, and netflix.  (Does anybody realize that if you type those same neologisms into an address bar, you get to where you want to go?)  The only actual search term–and by this I mean a natural language term, not a url that is not a real English word–was “yellow pages.”  I am absolutely astonished and dismayed by this.  I wonder if this sort of thing leads to mass depression among the designers and usability folks at Mozilla, Safari, Opera, etc?  I guess this underscores the point that the political economy of search is WAY more important than the convoluted politcal economy of DNS.  If I were a Google executive I would be thrilled with this news.  I wonder when people will realize that ICANN has just been a smokescreen (or magnet for academics who fantasize about “multistakeholder governance”), and the real action has been going on at google.com, facebook, twitter, and other masters of the “first hit is free” school of network effects?  They collect our money and our trust, and we choose to give it to them.

PS – maybe folks will begin to see things more clearly and critically when Siva’s book comes out?

One Response to “Thoughtful slacking”

  1. Eric Nystrom Says:

    Thanks for the shout-out :) One point, though — for most texts, Internet Archive has the “Flip Book” option (in the menu on the left) which allows you to read the book page-by-page. If you search for a term, it even puts little tape flags in the virtual pages where the term appears, which is nice.

    Also, let’s not forget about Project Gutenberg. In speaking with Lloyd the other day about Darwin, I reminded him about IA and he reminded me about PG. Fewer texts than Google Books for sure, and probably fewer than IA, but totally Free (as in Speech) and nearly all of them in glorious ASCII!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

